Being Judas ……

Today I had to do the unthinkable. I had to write a letter stating how my son has steadily descended into madness to the people performing the hearing on Friday on wether to keep him in the psych ward.

This should never have had to happen. But we have such an incredibly broken mental health system here that there was no other way.

You should never have to write a letter like i had to today and be made to feel like Judas . I would shout that from the rooftops if I thought it would do an ounce of good. But i know it would not. So i am doing the next best thing and putting it out in the land of people who know what it feels like to have to do this.

My sons mental health had gotten to the point of not being safe for anyone anymore. His own personal saftey and ours were in jeopardy

September 25th my son had a major melt down and was acting erratic and violent . He was smashing beer bottles with a hammer and tore the door off the hinges and smashed it as well.. Then he was posting threats on his facebook wall towards my husband. We determined we were not safe and called 911.

The police took custody of him under the mental health act and took him to the hospital. Where he has been since. But Friday they are having a hearing to see if he can get out. I was asked to either attend by phone call or to write a letter . :I chose the letter because honestly i dont know if i could keep my opinion of there system to myself.

This system that can refuse to tell me what’s going on in his treatment but call and ask me to tell them all about my son. And ask me to write a letter stating why I think he needs to be there. How is that remotely fair. How does that help???? If your reading this and you know the reason for this idiocy please enlighten me in the comments.

How can we have a system that allows his human rights and privacy to trump his personal well being? Or for that matter my or my husbands well being. I am told that they dont have to tell me when they release my son . Even though he was threatening my husband. How is that right?

The fear of my son aside . I also now may have damaged my relationship with him permanently. And it may have been for nothing at this point if they let him go this Friday. Again another aspect of the broken system we have.

I have tried for well over 5 years to get this child ( who is not a child anymore ) help but I have had no success it had to come to this point before anyone would do anything to help and I am completely disgusted to be honest.

I know this was short but I am spent emotionally and physically .

I AM SO DONE

Leave a comment